blog · christianity · Inspiration · Uncategorized

Finding Favor

Favor- an act of kindess beyond what is due

Look around you. What do you see? Do you see God’s favor and goodness? It is easy to see the negative around us in a world that is filled with hurting people, war, terror and destruction.  It is everywhere. But if you look closely, you will also see God’s goodness, His beauty and His favor.

The majority of the time it’s not easy to see, we have to train our eyes to look for it. It is often found in the small things. A couple of days ago I drove up to my house and saw the pansies in full bloom. They were bright and it appeared they were smiling at the sky. I took this picture spontaneously because I saw such beauty in a simple little flower. To some that would not be important. But I love the flowers that I have planted. It gives me great delight to see them grow and thrive.

IMG_3027.JPG

We have to be looking for the good things.

“I pray that your hearts will be flooded with light so that you can understand the confident hope he has given to those he called”- Eph. 1:18

Favor surrounds us. When you start looking for the good in your life you will see it in the most unlikely places. In the grand scheme of life, that yellow flower will not mean anything, but at that moment it gave me joy. I have been through a season of fog, where I didn’t particularly see God’s favor in my life. Some days I’m still in that fog. I question why things are as they are. But I’m often reminded that when God’s favor is the least visible, it’s working behind the scenes for our good. I have to continue to trust that ‘God’s got this’.

We must train our eyes, our minds and our hearts to see the good. To look for the small thing every day that God has placed for our good and to show us favor. It may be something big and it may be as small as a flower. God wants what is best for us, even when we are not physically seeing results. We should expect His favor to be around every turn.

God’s favor can be drawn to us by our attitudes and our mindset. It may also be kept from you for the same reason. Think about your own children. When they have a bad attitude or have willful disobedience, do you want to reward them? Do you want to give them extra things? No, or course not. It doesn’t change your love for them, but it does change your “favor”. It’s my personal opinion- but how could God not feel the same? His love, His grace and His mercy is never changing. But His favor is a different story. We can’t get mad or have a bad attitude toward God when we do not see instant results. We have to remember his promises. That He has plans for us that are for good, that He works good for those that are His.

Look for the favor around you. Expect His favor and trust Him in all circumstances.

 

Genesis 6:8- But Noah found favor in the eyes of the Lord

Proverbs 3:4- So you will find favor and god success in the sight of God and man

Genesis 39:4- So Joseph found favor in his sight and attended him, and he was made the overseer of his house.

Psalm 106:4- Remember me, O Lord, when you show favor to your people; help me when you save them

 

Blessings,

Hannah Grace

 

6 thoughts on “Finding Favor

  1. We do need to look for the good things! I have prayed and asked God to show me His grace in these days we live in. He has been so faithful to open my eyes to so much of His grace!

    Like

Leave a Reply

